Exploratory project/ Week 8: why don’t you have a go at something you hate?

Why don’t you have a go at something you hate? A title of an article on the OCA’s Weekender E-bulletin that caught my eye. I started cutting a piece of work that I made  a few days ago. First, in large shapes trying to follow or go against the patterns already created on paper. Then I started cutting rectangular pieces. I had no plan in mind. Then I remembered a comment by Angela about the circularity of the valtz so I cut more circular shapes, trying to make them look like almonds.They looked more like eggs. Then, I cut thin strips of paper which I then put together in circular shapes, trying to visualize the movements of  the valtz rhythm.

Using the almonds I scratched an oil paint surface to create imaginary landscapes. Predetermined outcome? Not much of an exploration? Most probably, but I enjoyed getting my hands dirty with paint after quite sometime.

Leave a Reply

